Wisdom From Books

The phrase that will destroy ninety nine percent of your worries……

Posted on: April 18, 2010

One of the most famous insurance company on earth – Lloyd’s of London-has made countless millions out of the tendency of everybody to worry about things that rarely happen.
Lloyd’s of London bets people that the disasters they are worrying about will never occur. However, they don’t call it betting. They call it insurance. But it is really betting
based on the law of averages. This great insurance firm has been going strong for two hundred years; and unless human nature changes, it will still be going strong fifty
centuries from now by insuring shoes and ships and sealing-wax against disasters that, by the law of average, don’t happen nearly so often as people imagine.

Dale Carnegie in his book, how to stop worrying and start living quotes the above example of Lloyds and then suggests a phrase, which according to him, will help destroy ninety nine percent of our worries. The phrase is:

‘By the law of averages, it won’t happen.’

Dale Canegie further claims that: I was full of worries in those days.

 When thunderstorms came, I worried for fear I would be killed by lightning. When hard times came, I worried for fear we wouldn’t have enough to eat. I worried for fear I would go to hell when I died. I was terrified for fear an older boy, Sam White, would cut off my big ears-as he threatened to do. I worried for fear girls would laugh at me if I tipped my hat to them. I worried for fear no girl would ever be willing to marry me. I worried about what I would say to my wife immediately after we were married. I imagined that we would be married in some country church, and then get in a surrey with fringe on the top and ride back to the farm … but how would I be able to keep the conversation going on that ride back to the farm? How? How? I pondered over that earth-shaking problem for many an hour as I walked behind the plough.

As the years went by, I gradually discovered that ninety-nine per cent of the things I worried about never happened.

For every ailment under the sun. There is a remedy, or there is none;

If there be one, try to find it; 

If there be none, never mind it.

Would you like to share your experiences? Your thoughts?

Share

7 Responses to "The phrase that will destroy ninety nine percent of your worries……"

[…] The phrase that will destroy ninety nine percent of your worries … – One of the most famous insurance company on earth – Lloyd’s of London-has made countless millions out of the tendency of everybody to worry about things that rarely happen. Lloyd’s of London bets people that the disasters … […]

[…] The phrase that will destroy ninety nine percent of your worries … – One of the most famous insurance company on earth – Lloyd’s of London-has made countless millions out of the tendency of everybody to worry about things that rarely happen. Lloyd’s of London bets people that the disasters … […]

[…] The phrase that will destroy ninety nine percent of your worries … – One of the most famous insurance company on earth – Lloyd’s of London-has made countless millions out of the tendency of everybody to worry about things that rarely happen. Lloyd’s of London bets people that the disasters … […]

AOA

sir I have read the book of Dale CARNIGE in urdu that are very good book

Very true Shouket sb; There are many good books by Dale Carnegie

yes … i strongly agreed to said statment…
thank you for publishing this statment.

I think same applies to the various issues that arise in office. Many times we are worried about the outcomes and this creates panic and fears. However, looking back, one can easily see that those fears were baseless.

Maybe we could make a “Diary of Fears that Nnever Happened”. This would give us an insight!!

Leave a comment

Welcome to the website – why to visit this website regularly?

Greetings!

This web site comprise of ideas and thoughts from various international management, business, self help best selling books. It is meant for all those who are interested in self-help, self growth and learning. If you are one of those who intend to read good management, business or self help books but have little time, this website is for you.

Also, if you read good books and want to share your thoughts and experiences with others, this web site is for you too......

This website is for every one who intends to learn, grow and contribute!

You can contribute your thoughts and share your ideas by making comments.

This website is updated around twice or thrice a week and hence, you may opt to subscribe when this website is updated. Welcome to the journey of learning!

Technorati verification: S49UYVK3F72J

blogarama.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 365 other subscribers

Visits to Blog since November 16, 2009

  • 580,825 hits

Archive of previous posts

Top Clicks

  • None